My life stories

Of vacations and bean dip

We are taking a family trip to the mountains, a place of my girlhood. The weather looks like it might cooperate, and we only left our requisite 30 minutes late, and the kids are now old enough to be excited!

Note: being the grown up packing for a trip means excitement shows up later than when I was a kid. When I was a kid, I could barely sleep the night before a trip. Now, I can barely sleep because I always underestimate how much time packing takes. I guess that makes me still a kid?

But now that I’ve had coffee, I’m here to tell you I did not:
Vacuum
Mop
Fold the pile of laundry on my couch
OR
empty out the food in my fridge that will surely stink up the house while we’re gone.

And I’m ambivalent about the above nonsense!

What I was not ambivalent about, however, was scraping this spinach white bean dip out of the food processor this morning even though that meant washing dishes at 6:43ish a.m. Spinach and roasted garlic are just not to be wasted.

I’m so happy this dip is making it’s way to the mountains with us, even though it will hardly experience the majestic beauty of nature before being ingested. As a bonus, my rather picky daughter will be doing some of the ingesting.

In case you are interested, here’s the recipe.

White Bean Spinach Dip
I can white navy beans, drained & rinsed
1-2 handfuls spinach
3 cloves garlic
Olive oil
Salt and pepper
Juice of 1/2 lemon

Toss everything in a food processor and blend til smooth. Scoop with carrot sticks, celery, or corn chips.

P.S. 3 cloves of garlic makes it super spicy. We love it that way, but use less if you don’t want the power to remind your husband 8+ hours later what you ate for lunch. Roasting the cloves mellows the flavor quite a bit.

Right now I’m thankful for cruise control, comfy seats, and a husband who loves to drive. And my parents’ efforts that made trips fun and easy when I was little.

So kids! If you are taking a road trip with your old folks, give them a neck rub, a coffee, an hour of silence in the car…..one day when you’re old and decrepit like us you’ll be glad you did.

4 thoughts on “Of vacations and bean dip

Leave a Reply

