My life stories

I is for Imagination

20140410-220410.jpg

When I was little, my sister and I spent hours playing games we made up. We played outside and after we were supposed to be asleep. We had certain games reserved for certain places and times. Our closest childhood friend joined in our shenanigans and added her own flair. Our imaginations made childhood a creative and often dramatic kaleidoscope experience.

Imagination is still needed in adulthood, isn’t it? In all phases of life, we use our imaginations to construct, redesign, and inspire. Imagination is a vital tool in writing. You might take a real event, then imagine it progressing in a different direction; take a scene from a work in progress and think about a few different outcomes; sometimes, your imagination might surprise you and spring something totally unexpected on you.

I hope that happens to me more often, personally. My imagination needs a little exercise. This probably explains why this post is so short. (That, and not much sleep last night…) Jump over here for some inspiration for your imagination.

How do you use your imagination? Is it easy to do, or does it feel like something best left to children?

(In case you were wondering, Part 2 of yesterday’s post is still in the works:)

4 thoughts on “I is for Imagination

  1. Hi, thanks for participating in A to Z. I am part of co host Pam’s Unconventional Alliance. Dropping in from the Blogging from A to Z challenge. Good luck! I loved your take on imagination. I try to use mine regularly.

  2. Imagination is still a regular part of my life, not just in storytelling but in everything. As Einstein said, “Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we now know and understand, while imagination embraces the entire world, and all there ever will be to know and understand.” : )

    1. Ooh, great quote! I hope to exercise my imagination specifically for story writing’s sake. That’s still a muscle I’m trying out.

Leave a Reply

