My life stories

K is for “Kids Songs”.

You know the kind I’m talking about. The simple, syrupy, sometimes catchy, mostly annoying songs marketed just for little children. Long before I had children, I vowed that such things would not exist in my house.

Now, people of all ages benefit from music, and I don’t need studies to tell me that we can memorize a lot and benefit from lyrics that catch in our minds as we sing.

But there are plenty of perfectly good songs out there that won’t drive me batty. My kids enjoy a variety of artists and styles, because, well, that’s what they are growing up listening to. I like to call it “culture”.

If you put in high-pitched jingles for your kids while driving to soccer practice, it doesn’t mean I will I unfriend you on Facebook or avoid you in public. It might mean you have more intestinal fortitude than I.

However, since we are going to have lyrics stuck in our heads, let’s please have something more rewarding then “the wheels on the bus go round and round.” Because I just can’t.

My poor children. They are so out of touch with their generation. “Summer” and “Joy to the World” are just miles away from “The Wheels on the Bus.”

4 thoughts on “K is for “Kids Songs”.

    1. Shonna, I haven’t heard of the Go Fish guys, but I’ve heard all I want of The Wiggles:) It’s funny; I think children should be introduced to joyful music, but most kid’s music is not my cup of tea.

  1. I love this about your littles! when I babysit them and they are happy to listen to josh groban & celtic folk songs or dance along to rend collective, I mentally note to train my (maybe future) own littles to be so open-eared!

Leave a Reply

