My life stories · The stories we share

Art of Life.

I have a quandary about this blog that I like to revisit from time to time. My quandary is that, while I believe art and especially story are woven throughout life and that’s what I want to write about here, I also like to escape on this blog by writing about things that I don’t spend a great deal of every day life thinking about, or studying, or discussing with other people. I love making the connection between a singular children’s book picked up at the library and every day life; I’m not so keen on the other way around.

Perhaps it’s an age-old artist’s quandary: we want to (must!) recreate, retell, but we must at some point do these things in solitude, away from the every day. By the same token, we have to live, experience life, and travel, or our art becomes stale and less than a dim reflection. Art and life, are, by nature, side-by-side.

Then there’s the pressure of building a platform, knowing your audience, and creating a presence. How will your work ever be known if you present a mere facade of yourself? And that, friends, is where I am. I want to publish magazine stories and books for children. So for now I write here and there, and send off to x,y, and z magazines, and then I rewrite and resubmit my stories that are sent back. Then there’s this blog. Am I really using it to the best I can?

Well, if there’s anything I’ve learned about about the creative process, it’s that it’s just that, a process. Keep at it, avail yourself of opportunities that will serve you, and don’t give up.

And, if you guys have any feedback on this, let me know! I’m all ears.

4 thoughts on “Art of Life.

  1. It’s definitely a quandary, and one that I’ve recently realized that I need to tackle, thanks to reading Writer’s Digest. (Best magazine subscription I’ve had in a long time.) I’ve tried to deal with the second quandary by entering the world of Twitter and Facebook. It’s hard to know exactly how to navigate these waters, but I guess we just get our feet wet until we decide where we’d like to dive in. It’s a very different kind of adventure than any other I’ve been on.

  2. So, I’ve been tagged in a Writing Process Blog Hop and as part of the process, I need to tag three other bloggers. You are an obvious choice. : )

    It’s an easy process. All you have to do is answer these four questions and nominate three other bloggers.

    1) What am I working on?
    2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?
    3) Why do I write what I do?
    4) How does my writing process work?

    Let me know if you’d like to participate with me. : )

    1. Wow, I apologize for not responding on time to this! If it’s not too late I may be able to participate tomorrow if I can find *one* more person to tag…should be easy (after I’ve had some sleep, ha.). Let me know if it’s too late, mon amie!

      1. Hey, mon amie! If it makes you feel any better, the other person I tagged just responded a couple of days ago too. WordPress must have been having a weird day when I originally posted, and then I got too distracted with other things to follow up. 🙂

        It’s not too late at all! Just keep me posted. 😉

Leave a Reply

