My life stories · My written stories

I Know I Said I Would Wait, But…

Today I yielded to a  call

From many miles away.

I know I said I’d wait for fall

But now, it’s had it’s say.

I was inspired to compose

A pumpkin oatmeal bake

And now my kitchen’s groaning ‘neath

This inspiration’s wake.

What can I say? Baking’s my thing

In case you didn’t know.

But I throw lists into the wind;

Not measuring’s my prose.

After my spices I’d perused

I found no cloves to spare

And so cardamum I used

With customary flair.

Oat flour, too, was running short,

And as the blender and I

Are not on current speaking terms,

Ground flax instead sufficed.

Pour and dash, mix and stir,

Go lick the spoon, fellas!

It’s vegan, so your midwife won’t

Chide you for salmonella.

(Not that she’d ever need to know…If it soothes your conscience, though.)

(Eh.)

Fall fragrances fill my house

But I can’t forget it’s August…

I’ll be eating my piece of fall

With coffee, iced and robust.

But what is this I have created?

A poem, am I deceived?

That fall could be so demonstrated

By me, is hard to believe.

But then, if fall knows anything,

Any way to lift my mood,

It’s how to inspire with my love languages-

Writing, baking-food!

Pumpkin Oat Fall Bars
Inspired also by this recipe.

2 1/4 cup oat flour
(Or 2 1/2 cups oats, run through the food processor)

2 T ground flax

2 t baking powder

1/2 t baking soda

1/2 t salt

1 1/2 t cinnamon

1/2 t nutmeg

1/4 t cardamom

1 c canned pumpkin

1/2 c unsweetened applesauce

1/4 c agave nectar (more if you like very sweet treats)

1 T coconut or olive oil

1/2 cup chocolate chips

Combine all dry ingredients with a wisk. In a separate bowl, combine wet ingredients, then stir into dry. Mix in chocolate chips. Give your kids some chocolate chips, while you’re at it. Taste batter and realize that it really should have ginger and cloves; put said spices on grocery list. Scrape batter into a lightly greased 8×8 pan and bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. Enjoy a taste of fall!IMG_8237.JPG

source
I could stare at this for hours and pretend I’m there…

3 thoughts on “I Know I Said I Would Wait, But…

Leave a Reply

