My life stories

Testing, 1,2,3…

It’s time for another writing and blogging warm-up. I’ve recently discovered that this is as important as writing about things that really matter deeply to me. Sometimes, like lately, I can look at my recent posts and bemoan the apparent lack of ‘deep thought’ . It’s so easy to believe that unless what I have to say is stirring, meaningful, beautiful, or important, that it’s not worth writing, or at least, publishing in this little space. Well, life is lived in the small moments as well as the big revelations, is it not? Yes, this is a conversation I have often with myself. šŸ™‚

As a writer, I have to practice writing. It doesn’t always need to take hours of blood, sweat, and tears. If I wait til thoseĀ opportunities arise, I’ll never practice. If I’m in the habit of putting words to paper often, then my writing muscles will be more flexible and strong for those times when writing is a real wrestling match, where I seek to assimilate materials and pour out what I’ve been pouring into myself.

On that note, I’m trying to be more aware that whatever goes in comes out. Whether I’m intentionally pursuing things that inspire and nourish or just randomly absorbing things that I come into contact with, whatever I take inĀ will come out. That’s where I love seeing writing as a broader representation of life, because this is obviously true for everyone-not just writers.

When I’m absorbing and interacting with words that are true, words that are inspiring, words that are lifting, it will produce something worthwhile. I can be like Lucy with the magician’s book and become absorbed in other’s hurtful words, or in comparing myself to others. I can (and try to be, often) captivated by beautiful stories that echo the most glorious Story of all. But never can I escape from that one gaze, the gaze of Aslan, who alone can render me as I should be when seeing and reflecting him. When I am reflecting my Creator (imperfectly, it is true), then I am most myself-for He has made us in His image to love and honor Him above all else and to do it with excellence in the small as well as the profound. There is no higher meaning in writing orĀ life than this. For only the Savior can take stories and redeem them into their fullest potential by restoring them to His original and good design.

2 thoughts on “Testing, 1,2,3…

  1. It’s great to read your post, because I can fully resonate with it. I found a lot of reasons to procrastinate in the past from writing down. I always thought it would never be good enough. I am thankful to be in the community where we are all thriving to be better together. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

