My life stories · The stories we read

The Chronicles of Narnia Audio

Remember the time I tried to read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe to my older two kids? Needless to say, when upon pulling down the book on night two of reading and seeing my oldest’s shoulders sag (“that book is boooring“), back on the shelf went the beloved classic until it could be enjoyed instead of endured.

“Try the audio version,” this friend said. “Pop it in while you’re all in the car and you have a captive audience.”

Perfect.

So I borrowed The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe from said friend. And we’ve all enjoyed it so much, that Mike bought the full set online. The voice acting is nuanced and distinctive, the sound effects spot-on, and in general, I may have to start inventing reasons to leave the house so we can continue listening. The production quality is well worth the cost and the parents of the house are happy to call this an investment.

We are now nearly finished with Prince Caspian. Occasionally I’ll pause the CD and ask the kids if they know who’s speaking in the story, or what just happened. Usually I see two sets of blank stares. Once, when I asked my oldest what he liked about Prince Caspian, he said, “Oh, the robot part is my favorite.” Huh?

I have no idea where he got that. But, listening comprehension aside, they are enjoying the experience, and that’s what counts. Hopefully they’ll enjoy reading the stories in a few years and I promise I will not go maniac on the subject. In the meantime, they are being exposed to advanced vocabulary and some of the best storytelling I can find. I’ve read The Chronicles of Narnia multiple times over the years, and each time, I find something new to delight in. I hope they have similar experiences over their lifetimes.

(If you’d like to check out the series, click here. And in case you’re wondering, I was not paid by Amazon or Focus on the Family for this post. )

Picture source

2 thoughts on “The Chronicles of Narnia Audio

  1. Audio books are the best. Even if they don’t completely get it yet. 🙂 As a kid, car trips were filled with them. We listened to everything from Ivanhoe to Star Wars to Zane Gray’s westerns. (Of course, Ivanhoe wasn’t my favorite. Not when my brother would kick the back of my seat repeating, “Press the Normans hard!” lol)

  2. He listened to the LWW a hundred times (about) from the age of 4 and slowly understood more and more of it. I filled in some parts and he was hooked. He’s listened to the other stories in the Chronicles since – and loved his Narnian Bday party (at age 5). =)

Leave a Reply

