My life stories · The stories we share

Summertime

Summertime, my mom likes to say, is when she hibernates and I’d have to agree with her. Here in Florida, summer feels like it is in full swing, although there will be plenty of additional humidity coming our way over the next few weeks.

We don’t have big plans this summer. No travel, no big vacations. The kids and I try to get outside first thing in the morning, or after dinner. Other than that, we don’t spend a lot of time outside. Cook outs and beach trips are rare in this season of life with a toddler who still needs naps (I still need him to nap too, let me tell you!). So, when you live in a place that makes the words Eternal Summer sound like, well, hell, and you have three kids that go stir crazy just as much as anyone, it means you have to get creative for the next three months or so. Here are some things we’re looking forward to to keep us sane.

 

  1. Planned park trips. Because sometimes you just have to brave the heat and get outside. Sweating is good for a body, it wears the kids out, and if I time it right it doesn’t interfere with dinner and the bedtime ‘routine’. Otherwise, lord help me, I turn into T-rex mom. Nobody needs that.
  2. Reading with the kids. Of course. This is list I need to formulate. I’ve been horrible about reading to the older kids lately, so I’d like to read them at least 3 chapter books before school starts again. I’d like to read them one or two of the American Girl books. My oldest requested Harry Potter (proud mom moment!), but I’m not sure they’re ready for the Forbidden Forest yet. However, if I can just skim over some of those parts in case it is too much….hmmm…
  3. Reading for me. Right now I’m reading Ender’s Game. Psychologically brilliant, yet not exactly my cup of tea. It’s intense, gripping, and somewhat painful. I’m going to be looking for something light afterwards, Montgomery-esque. Sigh. Guess I’d better finish Ender’s Game well before the summer ends. Other than this one, I’d like to read at least 2 others. A small number, because…
  4. Unpacking. Wow, this is going to take a while! We’re discovering storage flaws that need to be amended. We’re collecting items to get rid of in the process of unboxing things. Our walls are still bare, but it’s ok, we’ll eventually get there. The kids aren’t particularly thrilled about this one but we’ll all feel so much better when we’re finally settled.
  5. Crafts. Now that we’ve finished first grade and preschool, I have more brains for other hands-on things. I’ve been raiding Pinterest for fairy door models and things to keep the toddler from climbing the walls. We made fairy doors the other day-although my son’s painted popsicle sticks mysteriously turned into weapons…;) Also, I discovered I have all the ingredients for home made play dough, so that’s coming up soon.
  6. Time with friends and family. This is one of my favorites. The one thing we missed while in NC was the people we love here. Now that we’re back, it’s time for dinners together and playdates.
  7. Pool trips. We don’t have a pool, but there’s a public one near by where you can get in for a dollar a person. We’ll take it!

 

And there you have it. Mostly free things we’ll enjoy to stay sane during our long summer months. (I’ll have to share a post on summer writing goals soon.) What are some things you like to do in the summertime?

Leave a Reply

