My life stories · The stories we share

10/10: Day 10

Friends, it’s the end of this little miniseries. It’s not any cooler here, but the sun seems less harsh, enabling me to see more of the beauty of the pillow-crowded sky. Today I didn’t hate summer with every fiber of my being. So this last post is dedicated to the things we love about summer-namely, the fragrances that remind us of the freedoms and (dare I say) joys of the season.

  1. Fresh cut grass. One of my favorites.
  2. Pine needles basking in the sun.
  3. The fresh smell of rain.
  4. The sprinklers running, especially if there are children playing in them. Distinct from rain, for sure.
  5. Chlorine/pools. Not my favorite, but it does shout summer, doesn’t it?
  6. Sunscreen. See above. Especially after I’ve lathered it on myself and three kids. (Spray-on sunscreen is the best invention.)
  7. Cook outs, especially if it involves hamburgers!
  8. Iced coffee. Not as much a smell, I’ll admit, but so refreshing!
  9. That smell inhaled when walking into a carpeted store after trekking across a scorching, shimmering desert of a parking lot. Or maybe my nostrils have just recovered from the heat.
  10. And, because I ran out of Florida fragrances-that sweet smell of warm earth and plantsin North Carolina, especially while hiking through the woods. I wish I had better words to describe that scent.
Leave a Reply

