library escapades · The stories we read · The stories we share

Library Escapades, August ’16

This morning I took my two big kids to school. Everyone was excited, and I’m sure I wasn’t the only proud parent. It might be halfway through August (yay!!), and school is in session, but does that really mean summer reading is over? Not if you count the weather here:)

Anyway, the three of us, usually while the toddler was napping, had a good bit of reading out loud this summer, and I hope to continue into the school year. Here are the books we read so far.

Meet Addy by Connie Porter

I loved reading American Girl books when I was little, and I thought, what a great way to get some reading time and a little history in by sharing one of these books with my kids. These books are short, too, which is also a bonus when reading to young children. Meet Addy  was an appropriate introduction for my 5 & 7 year old to one of our nations’ most oppressive periods, particularly slavery, near the end of the Civil War. It is realistic but not too graphic.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling 

My son requested this one. At first I wasn’t sure-it’s really long, after all-but they both enjoyed it. It’s probably one of his favorites. There’s plenty of humor to keep their attention, and the details of the world of magic are enjoyable to re-readers and first timers alike. I won’t go in to too much detail with this one, but we did enjoy watching the movie once we finished this one (with a few parts fast-forwarded), and it even sparked a Harry Potter puppet show in our house.

The Book of Three by Alexander Lloyd

If you’re a fan of fantasy and Welsh mythology, you’ll enjoy this one. Maybe because we had just finished Harry Potter, my children weren’t quite into this one, so we stopped after a few chapters. I’ll try to pick it up next summer. So, we moved on instead to….

Kenny and the Dragon by Tony DiTerlizzi

My daughter snatched this off a display at the library, and it turned out to be an excellent last-minute choice. Easy and fun to read out loud, this apparently references Kenneth Grahame’s The Reluctant Dragon, which I now want to read. As a bonus, this book has a good sprinkling of DiTerlizzi’s illustrations throughout.

What did you read this summer?

One thought on “Library Escapades, August ’16

Leave a Reply

