library escapades · The stories we read

Library Escapades August ’16 part II

It’s September! Thanks to Hermine (shouldn’t that be Hermione?), even here in the armpit of hell we’ve had cooler weather and it has been marvelous. We’ve enjoyed the park several times. I’m on the hunt for pumpkin and pumpkin recipes. I lit a fall candle. About a week and a half ago, actually. And I’m happy about it.

However, I must look back at August, because it was a month of so many good books that I just can’t pretend I found them any other time. There was one Monday where the Toddler and I ventured to Toddler Story Time at the Library, and afterwards, armed with a list from StarDance Press, I, to my great surprise and delight, tracked down a glorious stack of new reads. The only reason I stopped at four was because the Toddler was letting me know in no uncertain terms that it was time to go, and I didn’t have his stroller or a book bag. So we checked them out and left.

So far I’ve only read two. Dark Fire  by C.J. Sansom I read about on Diary of an Autodidact. I enjoyed it more than expected. It takes place in Tudor London, 1540, and the protagonist is a hunchback lawyer who is caught up in politics and schemes involving weapons of mass destruction. I love that the four humors are referenced often. The protagonist, Matthew Shardlake, is a melancholic, so I felt a sympathy for him. The book is fast-paced and rich in historic detail, as you would expect. Every time I came up for air, it was with a prayer of thanks for how far plumbing has come, and for the fact that I don’t live in a city, even a modern one. The characters are many and complex. Shardlake’s struggles, both internal and external, are well described and make him a well-rounded character.

The second book is The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper. I haven’t actually finished it yet. It is a little slow and I found it a little hard to get into, but it is replete with fantasy nuances and Celtic mythology that I am unfamiliar with. As an aspiring fantasy writer, I’m soaking up Cooper’s techniques and trope usage. I’d read a passage and think, “ahhh, I forgot/didn’t know you can do that!” This book is easily one to shelve for future mining.

The other books are The Runaway Princess by Kate Coombs, The Rope Trick by Lloyd Alexander, and Keeper of the Mist by Rachel Neumeier. That last one came in the mail from the library, along with a second copy of The Runaway Princess (I’d forgotten that I’d ordered that one-so one of my best friends took it home and is enjoying it.) I’m determined to finish The Dark is Rising before I start on the next. Otherwise I may not be trusted to finish what I started.

It’s a new month with the promise of fall and I’ve got a stack of books. Things are looking beautiful.

What are you reading this September, friends?


 

4 thoughts on “Library Escapades August ’16 part II

  1. Aw, pumpkin recipes! ā¤ I hope you find some scrumptious things to make. I am glad it's cooling down for you…prolonged heat does take its toll on a person! haha And, wow, you really did do a lot of reading in August! That's great you found some books you really enjoy. I am not able to do as much reading with my work schedule, but I did read a nutrition book in August that I thoroughly enjoyed. I'm also still making my way through book 7 of the Outlander series, which by now has lost all its wonder and goodness. OH well. :-/ Do you have a Goodreads account, by the way?

    1. First of all, I thought I sent this reply long ago. Oops. It’s always sad when a book from your favorite series lets you down to such a degree! I do not have a Goodreads account. Do you like it (if you have one)?

      1. Yes, I LOVE Goodreads! Such a convenient and fun way to keep track of books I have read, books I want to read, etc. Let me know if you ever make yourself an account! I’ll follow you! ^_^

  2. Those books sound fascinating! I’ll have to check out The Dark Is Rising sometime. šŸ™‚

    I’m still reading Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy. Each one of the books is an eternity long in itself, so if you put all three together into one volume, you’ll be busy for a very long time.

    I’m also reading “Sixty Million Frenchmen Can’t Be Wrong: Why We Love France but Hate the French” by Jean-Benoit Nadeau and Julie Barlow. It’s a smidge dated since it’s from 2003, but it gives a great insight into French culture and the French mindsets. It’s come in very handy for teaching French!

Leave a Reply

