library escapades · My life stories · The stories we read

Library Escapades: September/October

Here’s another post I wrote last  fall and shoved in the drafts folder. I’m finishing this one partly because my focus is on my novel right now-I should be finished with this draft by Thanksgiving (hooray!!). My notebook is filling up with blog post ideas I can’t wait to share with you soon, but in the meantime, enjoy this blast from the recent past.
Hello friends! I haven’t written a Library Escapade since January, so I thought it was high time for a book haul type post. This is nowhere near the amount of books we’ve borrowed! These are mostly from a single 15-minute dash into the library on a whim. Because, three kids. Dashes must be quick. And library, because, well, reading.

  1. The Brambly Hedge books

I’ve seen illustrations here and there, but my daughter found these and I’m pretty sure I was more excited. The illustrations!

Update: I wrote about these books here. It’s not all fun and illustrations…well, I think it’s fun. 🙂

2. The Illyrian Adventure

I’d read The Arkadians by Lloyd Alexander a few months ago. I haven’t finished this one yet, but it is proving to be a charming adventure tale. The determined, irrepressible heroine and and cultural richness are classic Alexander.

Update: I very much enjoyed The Arkadians. The setting is modeled after ancient Greece and her mythology. The Illyrian Adventure is the first time I’ve read a book by Alexander that was set in a more modern time. It had a bit of an Indiana Jones feel to it, with the fun difference of the female protagonist. It’s interesting that the story is told from her guardian’s perspective, and at times I found that annoying. But my respect for Alexander grows with every book of his I read-his ability to capture qualities of such various cultures is stunning. Couple that with his ability to express the universal human qualities we posses, and he is an author worth learning from. He’s one of my role models, for sure.

3. Roverandom

My friend at The Everyday Epic and I found this one by J.R.R. Tolkien a year or 2 ago, but we couldn’t check it out. (Different library system, who knew?) Alas, I did not finish this one before I had to return it this time either, and, frankly, I lost interest. (Shame!) I did enjoy the similarities between this one and his other works. One of the most obvious is the wizard who passes by the protagonist puppy early on and changes his life dramatically.

  • There you have it! Have you read any of these? Tell me what you thought of them, or similar books!
One thought on “Library Escapades: September/October

Leave a Reply

