My written stories · The stories we share

A Look Back at 2016


Can you believe this year is almost over? It’s been a whirlwind for sure. Looking back at what we’ve accomplished can be a huge morale booster. I almost didn’t write this post-but again, morale booster. Need I say more?

My post from the beginning of the year listed my 2016 goals. Here’s what I actually did.

Blogging-I wanted to post at least 4 times a month. I did that, except for October, when I intentionally took a break.

Novel-The plan was to finish a draft. I’m pleased and grateful to say I finished two. Hooray!

Children’s Magazine Writing- This one veered off course, but I can’t say I’m upset about it. The plan was to revise/write and submit four manuscripts by the end of the year. Instead I did get to study a magazine market, write and submit one story, and take notes for a second. I did also get a lot of use out of the market guides my husband bought for me, mostly for writing contests.

Additionally, I submitted 3 stories to contests, 2 of which were children’s. I also submitted an essay and a piece of flash fiction (see below). None of them were featured or won anything, but, it was all good practice.

Flash Fiction-The plan was to write and submit 3 by years’ end. After the first one, I realized I’d better practice more before I tried submitting to more contests or other markets! So there are several flashes floating around my word files. I’ll probably share them here over the next month or two.

All in all, I’m very happy with my writing this year. The deviations turned out to be really good ones.

Did your goals veer off course a bit, or did you stick to your plan? What was one thing you gained as a writer this year?  I want to hear what discoveries you made along the way of what was 2016.

3 thoughts on “A Look Back at 2016

  1. Sounds like you did great! Something else to celebrate about as the year comes to an end. 🙂

    Well, I stayed on track with my blogging goal. 🙂 My novel didn’t get as near completion as I had hoped for, but I did write a new section that wasn’t anticipated at all, so that counts for something, right?

Leave a Reply

