My written stories

Coyotes Gambol

When I was little, my mom often read The Three Little Foxes by A. A. Milne to my sister and I. It always made us giggle. Early this morning I heard the mischievous laughter of coyotes out in the field. Milne’s poem came to mind; with a little effort, this poem sprung to life too. Enjoy. 


Coyotes gambol in the field in the dark

They scamper and jump and tumble and bark.

“Let’s go here,” says one to another.

“No! Over there,” says his brother.

They roam and wander like a circus troupe

An ever ebbing and flowing group.

Yipping and yapping, the field is their park, 

Coyotes gambol in the field in the dark.


(I wish I really had a picture of them, but here’s one shot of the field.)

Leave a Reply

